Etsy Files for IPO and Crashes the Site Daily!!

They are at it again!! Really? Really.

I just can’t believe it. Etsy filed for an IPO and now the site has been crashing daily. Customers can’t check out, sellers can’t list items, pictures won’t load, convos are spotty and they just merrily go on their way with no thought to the sellers. This is the worst it’s been in a long time.

I would think they would want the site to work to some degree while Etsy waits breathlessly for the IPO to go off without a hitch but no….they just keep testing, writing new code and making the sellers lives miserable. Along with the fact there is more manufactured items from the Asian countries which result in cheap knock-offs, sellers are appearing, taking customers’ money and disappearing again. The forums read like a bad novel when you see all the complaints from sellers and buyers.

Wake up, Chad Dickerson. You are killing Etsy’s chances of any decent IPO. At this point, I hope it falls flat on it’s face and lands on your doorstep. Do you have any idea what is going  on or are you so busy lining your own little nest that you no longer look into the workings of the site? What ARE you thinking? (Or, maybe you aren’t thinking.)

I would think they would want to polish what they have, put it on display, clean up the forum complaints and placate the sellers. Appeasing the buyers that have been taken advantage of by unscrupulous sellers might be a good start, too. Maybe offer them a bit of good customer service and help them recoup their losses. Or, is it just the bottom line? You have your percent, why rock the boat?

And, so it goes, the forums are full of dissatisfied sellers and buyers, take a peek in there and see the turmoil within the site and then decide if you really want to buy into this unstable dot com that has a CEO that only amasses more businesses to add to the mess he has managed to create. It ain’t pretty, folks.

I predict this IPO will be worse than Twitter and as disastrous as possible. I will be watching but not buying. Soon it will be the clone to eBay but with worse management and an IT department muddles along and eventually  as handmade dies off, the uniqueness of the marketplace disappears, it will falter and fall into oblivion. It will just be the resellers, the infringement and copyright artists and the sellers that disappear in the night taking the customers money that will be left with the Etsy brand that once was so proud.

About julianaemmaberntsen

The best thing I ever did was pack my bags and hit the road as an a float pool and agency nurse. It opened up many new roads and experiences that will define the rest of my life. With a passion for antiques and vintage, I sell online and can be found at eBay. Totally retired now, I live with my yellow lab, Caleigh in a big old house packed with memories of raising three kids, three dogs, two cats and three rabbits while trying to maintain my sanity at times I chose gardening as my release valve. With career choices that ranged from being a nurse/EMT, to a Wal*Mart employee and bartender I have met so many people from different walks of life. Reflecting back, after burying one son and a husband, I wouldn't trade the experiences I have had in life for all the tea in China! I write under a combination of past relatives' names as someone else has already claimed mine...
This entry was posted in Roads of Etsy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.