The Great American West Escape

I have escaped to the great American West. However, I have taken my grief with me but I need to see another part of the country and different scenery.

I love the western part of our country. The mountains and the pines make things more bearable and the air is fresh with the scent of clover. Traveling across South Dakota is a challenge in finding the beauty of that state. Flat, desolate and void of any real breathtaking scenery, you have to search to find the hidden surprises in this part of the country. I did find a real gem in Hoven, SD.

This small town boasts that it has the “Cathedral of the Prairie”. I was astonished to find their claim was true.

Stopping in this neat, clean little town I found a double spire Catholic church made of brick. Entering the massive wood doors with the hammered black metal hinges, I stepped into such a work of beauty I lost my breath. Suddenly I was surrounded by large columns that lead to the most ornately stenciled ceilings I have ever seen. With dark wood pews and large stained glass windows I stood there in awe of the magnificent interior of this house of worship.

IMG_4540

Standing in the back of the church I realized I was not alone. A woman who had completed her prayers came towards me and was anxious to tell me about this marvelous building I stood in.

She explained to me that they had loving restored the building a few years ago with only volunteer help from the congregation. Making their own stencils to restore the beautiful ceiling, they constructed their own scaffolding to work on the massive ceiling. It was an amazing feat of love that lead to the loving restoration of this historic building.

IMG_4544

German immigrants had originally built this work of art. Their devotion to God and love of Jesus and the Virgin Mother is so evident in every corner of the building. The stained glass windows are large and depicted scenes from the bible. The wonderful pipe organ in the choir loft is polished to a soft sheen and the soft colors of the statues give the church a sense of dignity.

IMG_4551

 

Realizing I had spent enough time, I reluctantly left this marvelous house of worship and walking out feeling more at peace in my heart. I found it hard to believe there was such a magnificent building sitting in this barren countryside in a small non-descript town. Only one sign had inspired me to stop. I was so glad I had taken a moment to check it out.

IMG_4548

Continuing my journey, I crossed over into Montana and traveled on towards Billings. Traffic was light and I made good time in spite of the construction areas I had dreaded. The sun was starting to set and I had driven over six hundred miles in one day.

 

 

 

 

 

About julianaemmaberntsen

The best thing I ever did was pack my bags and hit the road as an a float pool and agency nurse. It opened up many new roads and experiences that will define the rest of my life. With a passion for antiques and vintage, I sell online and can be found at eBay. Totally retired now, I live with my yellow lab, Caleigh in a big old house packed with memories of raising three kids, three dogs, two cats and three rabbits while trying to maintain my sanity at times I chose gardening as my release valve. With career choices that ranged from being a nurse/EMT, to a Wal*Mart employee and bartender I have met so many people from different walks of life. Reflecting back, after burying one son and a husband, I wouldn't trade the experiences I have had in life for all the tea in China! I write under a combination of past relatives' names as someone else has already claimed mine...
This entry was posted in Roads Less Traveled, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.