Really? Mother Nature is a____ Well You Know What

I have had it. Here it is, April 1st, almost midnight and we are having another blessed blizzard. I am going to go to bed but first I have to let Caleigh out for one more pee break.

Great. I can’t squeeze out the north patio door, there is a snow drift blocking it and I can’t push my way out. I haven’t been able to go out the south sliding glass doors because they froze shut right away this winter and there is a HUGE drift right up to that door. Which is a first.

Right now I can’t use the garage door because it broke after a storm. It tried to go up and the bracket that runs the chain fell off the door. AGAIN. I have to use a garden rake to close the door because the string you would normally use is tangled up in the bracket so I can’t reach it. I fixed the door last spring, I fixed last summer, I fixed it in the fall. The door is two years old. I can’t use the next door because my kayak is leaning against and so is some lumber. My pickup sits outside, there is a dent in the door, compliments of my husband, (Don’t ask)

So, those three doors are useless. I go back inside, bundle up, Caleigh is crossing her legs and whimpering and just on a whim, I decide to try our front porch door. That has been useless this winter because there is usually a drift there that is smack against the door. I did shovel it one nice day and I did do the steps but the drift on the sidewalk is up to my thighs. Yeah. No. Ain’t shoveling that…

Will miracles never cease? There is no drift against the door yet. I let poor Caleigh out, she runs, forgets there are steps, lands flat on her face in a big drift, swims through that because her feet don’t touch the sidewalk, finds land finally. She pees, forgets there are steps, stumbles her way back to the front porch door and dashes in! Hurrah! We have one escape route.

Honestly if we couldn’t have gotten out the front porch door, our last resort would have been the basement door and I have no idea if there is a drift there or not.

Now, I have lived in this house 48 years, never had drifts blocking the doors like I have this year. The reason I am having this issue is they took all our trees down for four blocks and they were big pine trees, maples, redbuds and others. They had always been a great wind block for the fierce west winds we get. They took the trees down because new sewer, water lines and storm drains went in plus they widened the streets and took out all the sidewalks. The sidewalks were put in during the Depression by WPA. They were in fine shape.

I hope in the morning I still have one door to get out. I will need to put on my snow pants (they are blaze orange because I did deer hunt at one time) my tall boots, wade throw the drifts that are thigh high and more to get to the north patio door to shovel it open. Yippeee.

Tomorrow is April 2nd. I should be gardening, not shoveling snow.

About julianaemmaberntsen

The best thing I ever did was pack my bags and hit the road as an a float pool and agency nurse. It opened up many new roads and experiences that will define the rest of my life. With a passion for antiques and vintage, I sell online and can be found at eBay. Totally retired now, I live with my yellow lab, Caleigh in a big old house packed with memories of raising three kids, three dogs, two cats and three rabbits while trying to maintain my sanity at times I chose gardening as my release valve. With career choices that ranged from being a nurse/EMT, to a Wal*Mart employee and bartender I have met so many people from different walks of life. Reflecting back, after burying one son and a husband, I wouldn't trade the experiences I have had in life for all the tea in China! I write under a combination of past relatives' names as someone else has already claimed mine...
This entry was posted in Roads of Animals, Roads of Family, Roads of Minnesota, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.